When DIY jobs don’t get finished and you stop noticing them… so, what now?

Our house was a temporary house (see earlier blog posts) and we’ve never really made it our own. We’ve built a conservatory, moved a few walls etc but they were just to make the space more liveable not for long term aesthetically pleasing results.

Take my bedroom for instance… my bed stands on the piece of carpet that was in the room before the walls were moved..the bedroom is now a metre longer but that part has no carpet… just a couple of rugs that were in the loft. At first this used to drive me mad… I kept looking at cheap “make do” carpets but there was always something else more important to fund. These days you can hardly see the rugs as my mountain of floordrobe tends to overspill due to lack of storage… yet another job that needs funding.

It has been nearly two months since we moved furniture out to the office to clear space for the plumbers… and there it has stayed… we are not lazy, we both work full time, long hours etc but other people seem to manage to have pristine homes… we are either doing something very wrong or they live in one room of their houses and the rest is just for show?

I find that if I plan to do DIY/sorting I cannot face it… if I casually move one item and then the sorting process develops more organically I seem to achieve more…

So today I will make no specific plans and see what develops… so, what now?

4 thoughts on “When DIY jobs don’t get finished and you stop noticing them… so, what now?

Leave a comment